Early morning or late night workout tips

Are you an early riser or evening rider? Let’s hear your top 3 tips on getting it done! From bike prep to nutrition let’s share which you are and what helps make sure the workout happens.

I prefer to get up early and do my workout- this doesn’t happen during the work week due to my hours, but weekends are early for me. During the week, I do my workout immediately after I get home - I have all my gear ready and waiting. My husband gets home about the time I’m finishing up, then it’s his turn! Tips: get into a routine that works and is not too inconvenient, have gear sitting out ready to go, I like to listen to music during my workout for motivation …

During the week, I do my workouts in the evening after I get home from work. As a pharmacist, I am on my feet for 9 hours with the end of the shift being busier. I can’t afford to be fading at work. During the week, a few of us use Discord to chit chat and I always have music in the background.
I keep water bottles in the fridge and have all my stuff ready so I can just jump on Zwift after dinner.

I workout at 5:30-6:00 AM. Here is what works for me:

1. Go to bed every day at the same time, regardless of the day of the week! Yes, my husband and I are very boring people and avoid evening social events at all costs :scream: Everyone in the house is asleep by 9:00 PM every day. I partied enough in my “youth”!

2. No alcohol. See how boring? We don’t drink at all. That greatly increases the quality of sleep and how I will feel on the next day.

3. Leave my cycling clothes/accessories/bottles/snacks ready and tape workout to the bike (if going outside) the night before.

4. Have the same breakfast every morning I will train, so I make sure I have what I need in the house.